Athens County Update


Athens County officials retain positions

Bennett Leckrone / Senior Writer

Incumbents dominated Athens county positions on election night.

Democrat Athens County Commissioner Lenny Eliason won his bid for reelection, receiving more than 65 percent of the vote.

Eliason defeated his opponent Republican Bill Hayes, who won only about 35 percent of the vote, according to unofficial results from the Athens County Board of Elections.

Eliason wasn’t the only local official to retain his seat: Athens County Auditor Jill Thompson, a Republican, and County Treasurer Ric Wasserman, a Democrat, were also reelected.


Midge Mazur | FOR THE POST

Debbie Quivey, director of Athens' Board Of Elections, shows her patriotic manicure on Tuesday, November 6, 2018. Quivey has been director of the Board of Elections for 13 years and says her favorite part of Election Day is taking care of the absentee ballots.

Thompson won 10,743 votes, or 51 percent of the vote, edging out her Democratic opponent Dave Owen by around 400 votes.

Wasserman soundly defeated Republican opponent Gary Van Meter, winning more than 61 percent of the vote.

Development by: Megan Knapp / Digital Production Editor

Landing Page

Special Projects

This story is part of a series of specially designed stories that represents some of the best journalism The Post has to offer. Check out the rest of the special projects here.